FAQ
 Search
Affiliates
free forum

My work- warning, image heavy

Go down

My work- warning, image heavy

Post  Sarah on Fri May 23, 2008 2:25 am

Thought I'd post some of the stuff I make.

Firstly, this is me- I'm on the far righthand side in the striped shirt. The next two people to my immediate left are my best friends, matt and stephanie. The other people are steph's roommates.

This is my four-legged best friend, Sofi. Smile

And now onto the art... These are scholastic pieces, in other words, they're academic and created for the purpose of submitting into my senior portfolio for graduation. As a major, I study as a fine artist (with the academic title being "integrated studio artist") with an emphasis on illustration and metalsmithing. Yes, I metalsmith. Wanna fight about it?

First up in my 3d group (Keep in mind, I am a horrible photographer- but photographing some of these pieces is incredibly difficult..), a cold-joined pendant of a dragoncrow named Poe. The base plate is brass, etched with ferric-chloride with paintpen as a resist. The rivets are hand made and had to be drawn out to a bizarre guage to fit the holes, heh. The beak and tail are solid sterling silver. This was cut with a jeweller's saw.

This is a solid sterling silver ring made from a 16 guage plate. The feet on the ring are soldered on. The ring is size 7.

A series of cups. These are off-wheel constructed, made of stoneware clay. The glaze is dani celadon, copper red was used but the glaze had gone bad and burned off.

Titled "Gecko Keeper"; the paper this is drawn on is 18x24", but the drawing itself is somewhere around 19x14". 6B graphite.

This was a monochromatic study in orange, done with prismacolor pencil. The paper here is again, 18x24", but as you can see, it is relatively small. I do not remember the dimensions. This drawing is over 30 hours of work.

Detail photo

Portrait of a student in graphite. 6B pencil, 18x24" paper. His name is dan